X2 CNC Mill

Had always been interested in adding a milling machine and a metal lathe to my workshop, and having shooting as a hobby just gave me the perfect excuse to spend money on the equipment!

Found a used CNC mill on Craigslist, so lucky enough I wouldn’t have to spend months installing a CNC kit and debugging it.

First thing to do was to build a bench, I started out with the Harbor Freight workbench because the size is right, and the peg board on the back plus lights on top is a plus. The peg board is an ugly brown so I quickly spray painted it silver.

IMG_6712

Though I quickly realized that the 1/2 inch board is probably not good enough to provide a stable surface for the 150 pound mill.  So I added a frame for support.

IMG_6717

To help carry and install the mill, I mounted a cheap $7 pulley to help avoid disaster

IMG_6715 IMG_6718

Next it was time to add the two side panels so I can encase the whole work area and keep dust in or out.  Notice that the light fixture is too low, so the side panels help raise the top

IMG_6720

Then came the easy part, to hook up the electrics.  The tricky part ended up being able to find an old PC that has a parallel port to interface with the controller.

IMG_6725

Now it’s time to spend a few months learning how to use some CAD/CAM software.  At least I can manually operate the mill for now.

Leave a Reply

