Picatinny Mount for the Advantage Arms

I made a dovetail mount for the Advantage Arms originally, but now that I have a red dot sight, a picatinny mount sounded like a much better idea.  Time to hit the garage and turn on the milling machine!

IMG_8844 IMG_8848

The part that takes the longest is the initial planning.  After that, it’s just a matter of writing it all down into G-Code, then go for a coffee break as the milling machine get to work.

IMG_8849

– It’s just a rail, no need for a proper CAD drawing. 🙂  Since the rail is wider, I can make a groove on the bottom of the rail for it to fit snugly on top of the slide.  I also cut a groove in the middle so it wouldn’t get in the way of the iron sights.  Despite how wide the rail is, you can’t see it if you’re shooting off the iron sights.

IMG_8850 IMG_8875

The rail fit snugly to the slide, and now I can select between my 6x scope or my red dot sight.

IMG_8893

Initial results were great, was able to get an average of 2.5″ groups at 25 yards, when I was lucky I could get closer to 1″, or 0.7″ even.  Love my new red dot scope!

Leave a Reply

