Should I sorting bullets when reloading?

Part of the fun in reloading is trying to make the most accurate load, so naturally, minimizing variances is part of the game.

The Nosler 185gr bullets varies in weight by about 1.8 grains, which is pretty good.  Though I still wonder if a 1% variance would make a difference?

I usually sort all my ammo within a 0.2gr tolerance, but this time I made a second batch where the bullets weren’t sorted, and headed for the range…

First I started with the unsorted ammo:

FullSizeRender 5

I was secretly hoping that there would be no difference, since I would like to not have to sort bullets anymore.  But for one reason or another, I can’t get the groups down. (one ammo had a FTF)

Now I switched over to the sorted ammo:

FullSizeRender 3

Getting tight groups with the sorted bullets were much easier.

I then proceeded to shoot free hand:

IMG_2555

Feels like my freehand performance is better with more accurate ammo (duh).  In hindsight, I should have benched all those shots to get better data.

I definitely don’t have enough data to have a solid conclusion yet, and I’ll be shooting more with sorted and unsorted ammo in the future.  Though for now I tend to believe that even for 25 yards, weighing ammo still matters a bit.  More importantly, it’s the process of trying to figure things out that’s fun and enjoyable.  Back to reloading!

Platform:

IMG_8974

Pistol used is a 1911 built from an 80% lower with a Kart non-ramped 5″ barrel and STI slide.

Leave a Reply

